Been slapped in the face with lots of memories recently.
All of them good, warm, fun ones.
And it’s made me just realize harder every time how much I miss your friendship.

Why can’t it go back to the way it used to be?
To just wipe the slate clean and start all over again.
I guess it would never be the same, I can just hear the words coming out of your mouth now.

It’s a lonely road and I’ve made a lot of big mistakes in the recent years.
I was so blinded and confused. Greedy even.

Some days I wish I could have my memory wiped and not know any better than living a life without you. Those are just rare moments though, because I rather be in pain and have those memories firmly stuck inside my heart than live blissfully ignorant of your existence.

Your smile used to make my day and now it’s starting to fade in my mind.
I don’t know if I can do ‘forever’ but I am trying. How can I let go without losing the memories?
That’s my struggle.

The truth is sad, eventually the memories too will fade away and we’ll become strangers to each other once again.

Maybe that’s why I just can’t let go completely, I can’t face that future yet nor do I want to.
If you’d ever let me back in, you’d see the past months I’ve changed so much.

And your past friendship is all that I cherish now from it all.

Some quotes:

‘Someday you’re gonna realize you’ve burned the bridge to the greatest friend you have ever had and it will be far too late to rebuild it.’

‘A broken friendship that is mended through forgiveness can be even stronger than it once was.’

Leave a Reply

